552 ACW members win awards

  • Published
  • By 72nd Air Base Wing Public Affairs
Two members of 552nd Air Control Wing recently won aircrew flight equipment awards.

Capt. Amanda Murphy, an aircrew flight equipment officer with the 552nd Operations Support Squadron, has been named the Air Force's Aircrew Flight Equipment Officer of the Year.  Master Sergeant Adam Parnell, also an AFE with the 552nd Operations Support Squadron, was named the Air Combat Command enlisted AFE of the Year.

Captain Murphy and Sergeant Parnell led 38 Airmen in five shops supporting the largest flying wing in the Air Combat Command, safeguarding 1,400 aircrew and 27 aircraft valued at $8.9 billion, and provided Command and Control Intel Surveillance Reconnaissance for 223,000 combat ground forces.

Among their many accomplishments, the captain and sergeant built the first wing fabrication shop, supervised a $368,000 work area to inspect and maintain 1,200 equipment items, saving $350,000 a year. They aced a supply audit accounting for 5,900 deployed equipment items with zero errors -- Air Force inspector lauded "best seen in Wing."

Two individuals from the 552nd ACW also won awards for safety.

Wing Chief of Safety of the Year is Lt. Col. Jamey Frazier, 552nd ACW Staff, and the Crew Chief Safety Outstanding Achievement Award goes to Senior Airman Mario Marchetti, 552nd Aircraft Maintenance Squadron.

"It is truly a tremendous accomplishment to win at the MAJCOM level and we have two winners in the 552nd," said Col. David Gaedecke, 552nd ACW commander. "These highly competitive awards recognize the exceptional accomplishments of our Air Force Safety personnel -- well done!"