Canadian Detachment earns multiple awards

  • Published
  • By 1st Lt. Ashlyn K. Paulson
  • 552nd Air Control Wing

The Canadian Detachment with the 552nd Air Control Wing at Tinker Air Force Base, Oklahoma, may be small in numbers, but its accomplishments and impact are monumental in size.

Several members of the detachment were recognized July 23 for their contributions to the United States Air Force, as well as the Royal Canadian Air Force.

Capt. Kevin Long received the Air Marshal W.A. Bishop, VC trophy. The trophy, named after William Avery Bishop who is credited with 72 victories and being the top Canadian and British Empire Ace in World War I, recognizes a great Canadian hero’s outstanding contribution to the legacy of excelling in Canadian aviation. Long was recognized for his outstanding accomplishments as an Air Surveillance Officer at the 964th Airborne Air Control Squadron.  His exceptional leadership ensured Airmen readiness for global defense operations throughout the year, and was paramount at RED FLAG where he received a Superior Performer award for command and control package commander.

The detachment also received the Golden Hawks Trophy in recognition of outstanding contributions and highly commendable achievements in any field of aviation including RCAF air and ground training.

In addition, Capt. Robert Kropaczewski received a General Service Medal – EXPEDITION. The GSM-EXP is awarded to members of the Canadian Forces, and members of allied forces working with the Canadian Forces, who deploy into a defined theater of operations, to take part in operations in the presence of an armed enemy. The award was presented for an Operation INHERENT RESOLVE deployment from March 5 – July 16, 2018.

Other members of the detachment received Air Medals and Oak Leaf Clusters. During 3 different deployment rotations. These Royal Canadian Air Force personnel distinguished themselves by providing critical Command, Control, and Communications support during 20 or more Operation ENDURING FREEDOM, Operation INHERENT RESOLVE and Operation FREEDOM SENTINEL missions, supporting a combined 9,166 United States and Coalition combat aircraft. They provided a combined 1,538 hours of on station time, contributed to the establishment of 6,516 de-confliction zones, and orchestrated 165 restricted operating zones. Their actions yielded 209 strikes against Islamic State of Iraq and Syria. Their execution of vital tactical Command and Control missions, in a dynamic environment, protected Coalition Forces and further enabled the continued success of overseas contingency operations in the United States Central Command area of responsibility.

These members include: Capt. Michael Garrett, Air Medal, Nov. 2017 – Jan. 2018, First Oak Leaf Cluster, Jan. – March 2018, Second Oak Leaf Cluster, March – June 2019; Kropaczewski, Air Medal, March – June 2018; Maj. Angela Hudson, Air Medal, March – May 2019; Maj. Ian McDonald, Air Medal, Nov. – Dec. 2017, First Oak Leaf Cluster, Jan. – March 2018, Second Oak Leaf Cluster, March – June 2019; Maj. David Murphy, First Oak Leaf Cluster, Oct. – Nov. 2017 and Aug. – Nov. 2019; Warrant Officer Raymond Moggy, Air Medal, March – June 2019.

Other members recognized for their contribution to detachment include Capt. Ross Nevile, Master Warrant Officer Lisa Powers, Warrant Officer Raymond Moggy and Master Corporal Devin Tuck.