Tinker’s own named 2016 ACC’s Command Post NCO

  • Published
  • By Ron Mullan

Staff Sgt. Lara, from the 552nd Air Control Wing Command Post, was recently selected as the Air Combat Command’s Command Post Non-Commissioned Officer for 2016.

In announcing Sergeant Lara’s selection, 552nd ACW Commander, Col. David Gaedecke said “it is a tremendous accomplishment to be recognized at the MAJCOM level and I am so proud to have her in our Wing.”

The announcement came as a surprise to her. “I didn’t think I had done that much in the Command Post being so new to the career field, but it feels nice.” said Sergeant Lara.

In addition to working 12-hour shifts as a controller, Sergeant Lara is the Non-Commissioned Officer-In-Charge of training for the Command Post.
“I am responsible for the training and certification of 13 controllers. Every month I develop training scenarios, evaluations, and tests. These actions ensure controllers are prepared for any emergency situation that may occur such as active shooter, NORAD support, and aircraft emergencies” Sergeant Lara said.

With just over a year in the Command Post career field, Sergeant Lara has accomplished a lot, according to her nomination package.

Among her many accomplishments she identified 49 Master Training Plan deviations reviving the training program and earned Wing Staff NCO of the Year; provided flawless response as the shift lead for an active shooter exercise and was recognized by the Installation Commander as an outstanding performer; mission monitored 27 AWACS fleet that generated 110 sorties and 450 flight hours providing leadership 100 percent visibility of $9.4 billion in assets.

In addition, she served as the wing resiliency trainer by facilitating the annual suicide prevention course and arming 100 individuals with wingman skills.
“Staff Sgt. Lara epitomizes everything you want in a leader,” said Master Sgt. Troy, 552nd ACW Command Post Superintendent. “Her hard work, humble leadership and commitment to improving the team is what makes her the perfect choice for ACC Command Post NCO of the Year.”